Loading Events

« All Events

The Difference Between Autism and Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorders (FASD)

June 26 @ 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm

$39.

Wednesday, June 26, 2024, 12-1pm EST / 11-12pm CST / 10-11am MST / 9-10am PST

1. CE offered through CEBrokers for Florida LCSW, LMHC, LMFT, CMSW

Cost:  $39.00

This one-hour presentation will discuss the similarities and differences between Autism
and Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorders (ASD/FASD). Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorders
(FASD) cover various conditions caused by moms drinking alcohol during pregnancy,
leading to changes in the body and brain. Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD) is a complex brain-related condition. Some experts think that when moms drink during pregnancy, it might raise the chances of their child having ASD, especially if there’s a family history. This review aims to break down the research on the possible connection between FASD and ASD. Studies in this area have given mixed results, showing both similarities and differences between the two conditions. What’s interesting is that both disorders often get misunderstood or not recognized enough. So, it’s crucial to look beyond the obvious signs and pay attention to subtler traits and less severe cases.

 

Objectives:

  • Better understanding of similarities and differences between FASD and ASD
  • Able to identify at least four similarities/differences in social behaviors in FASD and ASD.
  • Learn different teaching methods for working with students with ASD/FASD.

 

Presented By Kathryn Shea, LCSW, FASD United Board Member
Over 35 years of experience in the field

Details

Date:
June 26
Time:
12:00 pm - 1:00 pm
Cost:
$39.
Website:
https://lp.constantcontactpages.com/ev/reg/ysubagz/lp/1d7b32ae-a299-4412-b4c8-e997c6bc32ee

Venue

Zoom
FL United States

Organizer

The Florida Center Training Institute
View Organizer Website