Loading Events

« All Events

Mind In The Making: The 7 Essential Life Skills Every Child Needs

March 7 @ 12:00 pm - 2:00 pm

$199.

8 CE offered through CEBrokers for Florida LCSW, LMHC, LMFT, CMSW

Cost:  $149.00 Early-bird until 2/29,  $199.00

 

This is a 4 part series in which Kathryn Shea, LCSW will cover the critical elements of the Seven Essential Life Skills. In 2000, Mind In The Making (MITM) founder Ellen Galinsky began a research journey fueled by a question: how to keep the fire for learning — which every child is born with — lighting up the eyes of children? To answer the question, she reviewed more than 2,000 studies and conducted in-depth interviews with and filmed more than 130 leading researchers who study children’s development and learning. From what she learned, Galinsky developed a framework of the 7 Essential Life Skills. The work grew into MITM, a national movement to share scientifically based research and strategies for promoting Life Skills, reaching millions of people in communities across the country, and counting. This 8 -hour presentation will focus on understanding the seven essential life skills and ways to implement them in your every day lives. The seven essential life skills are all pathways to our executive functioning skills and all are necessary for children’s successes in life and in school.

The Seven Essential Life Skills Every Child Needs are 1. Focus and Self Control, 2. Perspective Taking, 3. Communicating, 4. Making Connections, 5. Critical Thinking, 6. Taking on Challenges, and 7. Self-directed, Engaged Learning

Learning Objectives:
1. Participants will learn the seven essential life skills and how they impact child development.
2. Participants will gain a greater understanding of their own individual skill
set in practicing the seven essential life skills.
3. Participants will learn how they are engaged in understanding how they
and their children learn best and become more intentional in promoting
children’s learning.

DATES of Course:

Thursdays, March 7, 14, 21 & 28, 2024

Time:  12-2pm EST, 11-1pm CST, 10-12pm MT, 9-11am PST

Cost: $149 until 2/29; $199 as of 3/01/24

Presented By Kathryn Shea, LCSW, FASD United Board Member, Mind In the Making Certified Trainer.

Details

Date:
March 7
Time:
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
Cost:
$199.
Website:
https://conta.cc/3SSaWl1

Venue

Zoom
FL United States

Organizer

The Florida Center Training Institute
View Organizer Website